A Garden Aglow

On Saturday evening I got to visit 2 1/2 places on my St Louis “to-do list” with some of my girl friends.

Chelsea and Kelly are some of my new friends in St Louis. Kelly is still in school at Western Kentucky, so we only get to enjoy her company when she is home or when Chelsea and I take a road trip to Bowling Green.

Chelsea and Kelly are some of my new friends in St Louis. Kelly is still in school at Western Kentucky, so we only get to enjoy her company when she is home or when Chelsea and I take a road trip to Bowling Green.

First we had dinner on The Hill. The Hill is an Italian neighborhood that St Louis is famous for. There is supposedly so many good Italian restaurants, bakeries and delis there. We had dinner at Anthonino’s Taverna, which was a first for all of us. They claim to have the best toasted ravioli on The Hill and I think they’re right! I had the beef spedini and we all left full and planning our next visit.

Anthonino's Taverna

Beef Spedini is thinly sliced round steak rolled and filled with genoa salami and provolone cheese. Topped with more goodness of with cherry pepper relish and served on polent. So yummy.

We then left for Anheuser Busch Brewery to see their Christmas Lights (which is a free event). This is where the 1/2 item on my bucket list comes from. This is what we were expecting:

AB Christmas Lights

This is what we saw:

Slide2

The line to get in was SUPER long. We didn’t have enough time so we looked through the gates (which is the look above) and left.

Thankfully we had already bought tickets for Garden Glow at the Missouri Botanical Gardens, this was the main attraction for the night anyways. I was a little disappointed how long we had to wait in line at the garden. We had pre-bought tickets for this reason. We arrived early and we were 20 minutes later getting in than our scheduled time. We were then rushed through the entire gardens, but what little time we spent was spectacular!

Slide3 Slide4 Slide5 Slide7 Slide8 Slide9 Slide11 Slide12 Slide13 Slide14 Slide15 Slide16 Slide19 Slide20 Slide21 Slide22 Missouri Botanical Gardens

DSC_0476

I wish there was a few more days left until Christmas, because I would go back if there was time! I am really looking forward to going back to the St Louis Botanical Garden come spring and in the day time! I’m sure it will be just as beautiful then!

I visited The Hill and The Botanical Gardens. I went to the brewery, but I didn’t actually get to go see the lights at AB, so I guess that item will have to wait until next year. 2.5 things in one night isn’t bad.

Leave a Reply

