Mema’s Pound Cake

When I graduated from Auburn University last spring I went to the campus bookstore after I finished my last class and bought myself a graduation present. Not an alumni sticker, t-shirt, coffee mug, or diploma frame, but a cookbook. The specific cookbook I bought was Course Offerings published by the Auburn University Campus Club. The Campus Club has a scholarship endowment that goes to fund scholarships for horticulture students in the College of Agriculture. It is a nice cookbook that is a three-ring binder style, it has 650 recipes and I love reading through it.

Auburn campus club cookbook Course Offerings

If you’re interested in ordering a cookbook you can email aucampusclub@gmail.com

The recipes submitted to the cookbook were around the theme of “can I have that recipe” so these are some of Auburn’s finest cook’s most requested recipes!

Like any good southern cookbook it has no less than 15 pound cake recipes. I have made  a couple of them in search for my go-to pound cake recipe. Being from the South I feel like pound cake is one of the things you need to know how to make and make it well (I’m still working on biscuits).

The recipe I am frequenting the most is Mema’s Pound Cake. Do not be confused, this isn’t my Mema’s pound cake, in fact my grandmother always bought the Sara Lee frozen pound cakes. I never had a “Mema” but whoever’s Mema this is can make a good pound cake!

For this recipe you’ll need all ingredients to be at room temperature and your oven preheated to 325:

3 sticks of butter

1 – 8 oz. block cream cheese

6 eggs

3 cups sugar

3 cups cake flour

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 tablespoon almond extract (recipe calls for lemon, I prefer the taste of almond)

First combine your butter and cream cheese in a large bowl. Mix well.


Next add your sugar one cup at a time, mixing between each cup.


Add eggs in one at a time, beating well after each addition.


After that add in your flour one cup at a time and alternate with your flavoring. *I prefer to mix in the flour a little bit with a spoon before using the mixture to keep flour from going everywhere.

After mixing well pour batter into a greased bundt or tube pan and bake on 325 for an hour and a half.

Beautiful right? A little crunch on the bottom and nice and firm (but not too firm) on the inside.

Mema’s Pound Cake

3 sticks of butter

1 – 8 oz. block cream cheese

6 eggs

3 cups sugar

3 cups cake flour

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 tablespoon almond extract (recipe calls for lemon, I prefer the taste of almond)

First combine your butter and cream cheese in a large bowl. Mix well. Next add your sugar one cup at a time, mixing between each cup. Add eggs in one at a time, beating well after each addition. After that add in your flour one cup at a time and alternate with your flavoring. After mixing well pour batter into a greased bundt or tube pan and bake on 325 for an hour and a half.

Leave a Reply

